Our next concert:

Saturday 6th July 2019 7.30pm

St. Peter's Church
90 Kensington Park Road
London W11 2PN

£8 in advance online. No booking fee.

£10 on the door on the day. Children (16 and under) free

A Concert of French Music

Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte
Debussy (Orch. Ravel) Sarabande
Fauré Pelléas et Mélisande Opus 80
Gounod Symphony No 1 in D major

Charles Gounod was probably the most successful French composer of the nineteenth century, winning the coveted Prix de Rome for his cantata Fernand in 1839. He is best remembered today for his operas, and his famous setting of Ave Maria adapted from a keyboard prelude by Bach. His first symphony, written in 1855, is a lively, energetic work, full of attractive melodies, and genial good humour.

Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924) lived through a time of great musical change, and is now regarded as one of the most original and influential composers of his age. He is sometimes described as the originator of impressionist music. He wrote music to accompany a London production of Maurice Maeterlinck's symbolist play Pelléas et Mélisande in 1898, and later made an orchestral suite of four movements. The third, a sicilienne, is among his most famous compositions.

Both Debussy and Ravel were pupils of Fauré, and are generally regarded as the greatest impressionist composers. Debussy is now best remembered for his piano music, and Ravel for his highly imaginative use of the orchestra. Ravel's Pavane was written in 1899 as a piano piece, and is a slow and intensly beautiful lament for a dead princess based on a Spanish dance. It does not depict any historical character, but is intended to evoke the spirit of the Spanish court dances from the sixteenth century. He orchestrated it in 1910. Debussy's sarabande was also originally composed for the piano. Its orchestral version was created by Ravel after Debussy's death, and is widely regarded as a combination of geniuses

Online ticket sales

Online sales are made through an online box office hosted by Ticket Tailor. Card payments are processed securely through PayPal - we do not handle your card details at any point. Any personal information collected (eg your name and email address) will be used only to administer your booking. Full details of what information we collect and what we use it for is in our Privacy Statement for online ticket sales here

Your ticket(s) will be sent by email. There is a limit of 6 tickets per booking - if you need more, please just make a further booking.

Please either print out your e-ticket and bring it on the night, or be ready to show it at the door on your smartphone, so that we can scan the barcode.

All tickets are unreserved. Arrive early for the best seats!

We regret that we cannot refund any advance ticket purchases, unless we have to cancel the concert.

Any queries about online tickets? Click here to contact us.

The Portobello Orchestra is a registered charity no 1081212
We use cookies to provide links to social networks and to improve our website utility.
See our privacy notice for more info.